Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

Unique Opportunity

Job Description

We are looking for respite on beautiful Hornby Island. I’ve worked with children with diverse needs since 2000! I fostered and adopted my son and we moved here from the mainland. I expected to be single forever… But the universe had other plans and I now have baby girl! Being a new mom, as my partner and I settle into parenthood, we really need help. My son is 18 and has his own accommodations, there’s a room here for respite workers. You’d be reimbursed for travel expenses for overnight or day shifts. To build relationships / training, new people begin as “mothers helper” – simply an extra set of hands makes a huge difference (It’s tricky to get out for walks with both kids!)Many of our workers plan for extra time on Hornby Island, before or after shifts, so they can enjoy the amazing beaches & trails. (If you haven’t been here, Google: Tribune Bay – it really is that gorgeous!!) There’s also a wonderful arts community here and my son and I work the Farmer’s Market.

Between now and May, we are hoping to fill as many ‘respite weekends’ as possible, as we have some good funding that will expire. But ‘weekends’ can be any day / night. Wednesdays to Mondays (Th, Fri, Sat, Sun too) are the greatest need. We are super flexible with the schedule and will be hiring multiple people to fill these times.

If you are taking classes we are totally fine with you doing course work during down time.

If you’re interested we’ll plan a video call where we can discuss all the possibilities for shifts, wages (vary by responsibility) and then a “working interview” where you’ll be paid to come to a Hornby for a shift to try it out.

Let’s chat and see if we’re a good fit.

Support Needed
 Casual/Temporary
Part Time (under 30 hours per week)
Respite
Support for Individual Age Group
7-18
Location
Personal Care
Bathing
Behaviour Support
ABA, BI, Willing to Train
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
Driver’s License
Language Spoken
English
Willing to group with other family to share a Support Worker?