Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

Live-In Caregiver(s) for Fall 2023

Job Description

We are looking for a Live-In Caregiver (or couple), non-smoker(s) that need a place to live. Individual owns the house. We are also seeking a second special needs individual with similar needs to combine income for caregiving support and companionship for outings/weekends.

Location: Lower Lonsdale, newer half-duplex in North Vancouver.

Caregiver: to be stable, reliable, fun, positive, active, patient personality type, speaks English. The caregiver could work during the day.
The Individual must be flexible enough to provide support to our son with the daily Mon-Friday morning routine – breakfast (7-8 am), dinner (5:30-7 pm), and overseeing his evening routine before bed (8:30-9:00 pm). The individual is expected to take care of the house.

Start date: end of Sept 2023
A vehicle would be an asset but not necessary.

Experience is not necessary, but would be an asset

Our 26-year-old son is semi-independent and overall, a very healthy, happy young man with a great sense of humour and imagination. He has fine motor difficulties, can’t read or write, but can use his iPhone/computer. He likes living with Roommates and being part of their family for any activities (walking, biking, golfing, skiing, snow-shoeing, holiday celebrations, birthdays). He currently is occupied Monday to Friday for most of the day with work and a day program he attends.
Parent’s permanent residence is on Vancouver Island.)

Services would include grocery shopping, meals (3 meals that include a lunch he takes on days he is at his day program), laundry, bed making, time management (reminders), bedtime routine (bedtime story), and some personal grooming (help with showers, face cream, ensure teeth brushed). There may be a transportation component, but mostly he can get everywhere by bus.

Our son loves hanging around the house and can be at home alone for several hours a day. He can help with table setting, dinner prep, and supervised microwave use.

Wage: to be discussed. Approx. $1800/month after rent and utilities.

Accommodation: Private bedroom + 4-piece bathroom; Safe neighbourhood.

Support Needed
 Home Share
Support for Individual Age Group
19-54
Location
Personal Care
Willing to Train
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
Driver’s License
First Aid
Language Spoken
English
Willing to group with other family to share a Support Worker?