Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

respite for 15 year old boy

Job Description

We are looking for respite for our son Daniel, approximately 5-8 hours per month. Hourly wage flexible. We receive $250 per month in respite funding from the At-Home program. We are seeking after school care (as needed), and evening care for the rare date night. We will have many more daytime hours available during the summer. Respite can be in-home and at times, Daniel’s typical 12 year old brother will be able to assist. We may ask for a respite worker to do outings outside the home or pick up after school at Van Tech Secondary, especially in the spring.

Daniel has Cornelia de Lange syndrome (CdLS). He is 15, non verbal, wears pull ups, is a flight risk, about the size of a 8-10 year old, has the mental capacity of a toddler, has been throwing his food lately, and can be violent. He is also very loving, quite a flirt, and loves adventures, fart noises, comedy, and music. He really likes car rides and bus rides. He loves walks in the woods and swimming trips to Hillcrest.

The ideal candidate needs to be patient, physically strong, and prepared for some yelling. We are trying medical solutions and we are starting to find the right combination.

Support Needed
Part Time (under 30 hours per week)
Support for Individual Age Group
Personal Care
Incontinence Care, Willing to Train
Behaviour Support
ABA, BI, Willing to Train
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
Language Spoken
Willing to group with other family to share a Support Worker?