Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

Respite care for verbal autistic 11-year-old

Job Description

We need someone who can spend time with our 11-year-old daughter. She is autistic (with a demand avoidance profile) and also has ADHD and anxiety.

She:
-is fully verbal
-loves nature and animals, especially cats
-plays Minecraft and Roblox
-likes to watch YouTube videos
-enjoys drawing and crafting
-is “doing” school-at-home
-is most comfortable at home, but likes to go out for ice cream and other treats
-loves reading
-is imaginative, creative, funny and silly!

You:
-are fully vaccinated against COVID (and following public health guidelines, or more!)
-speak English fluently
-have a criminal record check done
-have some experience with (or are willing to learn about) demand avoidance autism

Ideally, you are open to being hired under our respite care funding provided through the Developmental Disabilities Association (approximately 5-6 hrs per week; specific hourly rate and contract requirements per DDA; contact us for more info).

The job would entail doing whatever she wants to do (within reason)! We are not going to public indoor places right now, so activities would happen inside our home or in our neighbourhood. She and her younger sister (3-years-old) are ineligible for vaccination at this time.

The times/days are flexible, but she is at her best in the morning. Depending on your availability, we would like a minimum 4 hours per shift.

Support Needed
 Casual/Temporary
Support for Individual Age Group:
7-18
Location
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
Language Spoken
English
Willing to group with other family to share a Support Worker?