Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

Low Income Person Looking For Respite In Vancouver, Part Time

Job Description

***Must have valid CRC and full proof of COVID vaccination (both doses), and valid references.
***Must be willing to take my low income into consideration, and/or agree to my providing some form of support or assistance to the worker / family, in lieu of financial payment. Am unemployed and am on PWD assistance through the Ministry Of Social Development And Poverty Reduction only.

Am a low income person with a mild physical disability (no personal care required, no developmental disability, have high cognitive ability, am a self-advocate) looking to live part-time in a support worker’s home in Vancouver, for one to two weeks at a time on a regular basis. (Would be living at my current location in Sechelt on the Sunshine Coast, the rest of the time.
Looking for a comforting, second family type of atmosphere, to regroup in as I restart / find my way in, life. Must be sincere, caring, patient, and empathetic, as well as physically and emotionally healthy. Must be non-smoker, as I am asthmatic, and a non or very minimal drinker, for my own emotional and physical safety / peace of mind. Am in my 30’s, so peer preferred, willing to consider older if personality is the right fit. Have complex life story as to why I’m looking for respite; phone and Skype interviews prefered. Duties include providing emotional support (father deceased as of 2015; have isolated upbringing and mild family of origin issues; new to life in general (anxiety / developmental setbacks due to isolation), as well as support with social aspects / joining activities / finding myself, in Vancouver. Support worker / family would need to provide cook all meals (must be healthy), and mentor / support in cooking skills. Please e-mail abeadle@dccnet.com, to set up an interview. Thank you.

Support Needed
 Full Time (30+ hours per week)
Support for Individual Age Group:
19-54
Location
Special Experience Preferred
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
Driver’s License
First Aid
Language Spoken
English