Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

Female Caregiver on Unique Gulf Island

Job Description

You will train to Latisha’s specific care needs and lifestyle. Latisha lives in her own accessible home alongside Judy and Michael, her parents. Latisha is a bright, perky 40 year old who uses a computer for speech and both a wheel chair and a walker for mobility. Her care needs include assistance with bathing, dressing, personal care, and specific support for feeding. Latisha prefers people who are cheerful, compassionate, have good energy, and like to have fun! In addition to learning how Latisha’s computer for speech works, you will assist her to attend island functions, walk in her walker for exercise, work on her paintings, and sometimes volunteer in her community. Latisha likes to go out to actvities on Lasqueti and on Vancouver Island so having a driver’s licence is preferred.

Rentals are scarce on Lasqueti, but there is a cottage available to support workers for overnights or short term stays. This option might work for someone wanting to live in Parksville/Qualicum area and come over to Lasqueti for shifts. There is also a rustic cabin in the woods, one room with loft that has just the bare necessities for anyone looking for a longer term alternative island experience. Rent for the cabin would be extremely low just to cover taxes.

Support Needed
 Full Time (30+ hours per week)
Part Time (under 30 hours per week)
Support for Individual Age Group:
19-54
Location
Personal Care
Bathing, Feeding, Incontinence Care, Willing to Train
Mobility Support
Lift, Transfer Support, Willing to Train
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
First Aid
Language Spoken
English
Willing to group with other family to share a Support Worker?