Login to Your Account

No account yet? Join free now.

Care aide for 36 yr old male with Fragile X and autism

Job Description

I am looking for a full time live in care giver to care for Travis, but until I find that person, I am in need of a part time care aide. Your duties would include making meals, administering meds, bathing and personal hygiene, shopping, cleaning, laundry, and going for walks.
You would require you’re own transportation to get to and from work, but while you are at work a vehicle would be provided. Travis is usually a very happy and healthy young man, but on occasion he gets very aggressive. He usually bangs on objects when he gets this upset or anxious, and sometimes attacks the caregiver, but usually just bangs on different objects, such as windows, doors, tables and vehicles. I need someone who can stay calm in these stressful occasions, and talk to him in a calm relaxing manner. He likes to go for walks, go to the pool, and drive around. At home he listens to music, sit in the hot tub, plays on his computer and watches TV. We live on an acreage on the outskirts of Grindrod, BC. If you think you would like either the part time job or the live in job, please contact Marianne @780+835+0641 for more information.

Support Needed
 Casual/Temporary
Full Time (30+ hours per week)
Support for Individual Age Group:
19-54
Location
Personal Care
Bathing
Behaviour Support
Crisis Support Prevention Training
Complex Health Needs
Medication Administration
Skills & Training
Criminal Record Check (CRC)
Driver’s License
First Aid
Language Spoken
English
Willing to group with other family to share a Support Worker?