Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to our Most Common Questions

Find all you need to know about Support Network Central, how it works, and specific answers to our most common questions.

General FAQ

Support Worker Central is an online portal designed to connect individuals & families with support workers. Once a job posting is created, you can select “search for a support worker” to see a list of support worker profiles that match the job posting. Then you can select “contact this support worker” to send a message to the support worker’s private Support Worker Central (SWC) mailbox.

Once a support worker creates a profile, they can select “search job postings” to see a list of job postings that match their profile and can “contact this job posting’s owner” to send a message to the private SWC mailbox of an individual or family member or to view the public contact information of job posting owner. Not all job postings can be found in a search; some individuals & families choose to keep their job posting private and support workers will only see those job postings if the individual or family chooses to contact the support worker.

  • The personal contact information that an individual or family used to register is not sent when they communicate about a job posting unless they choose to include it within their message or job posting.
  • The personal contact information that a support worker used to register is not sent when they communicate about a job posting unless they choose to include it within their message or support worker profile.

You can increase matches by selecting fewer criteria on your job posting. Only select the credentials, education, and skills that are essential to fulfill the requirements of your job. 

The greater the number of criteria, the less likely it is that you will find support workers who match all of those criteria. 

If you will accept any one of the credentials listed do not select all of the credentials listed; instead leave the credentials checked as “no” in your job posting or unchecked when performing a quick search. Selecting “yes” for all of the credentials listed will not result in any support worker matches as it is unlikely that a support worker will have all of the listed credentials. 

You can “edit match criteria and search again” after performing a “search for a support worker” to use a search form that is populated with your job posting information and temporarily change criteria to increase matches without changing your job posting. You can also use the quick search form without changing your settings. Leaving all fields in the quick search form unchecked will return a list of all support worker profiles. You can edit any criteria in the quick search to narrow the search. 

Support workers can also “edit match criteria and search again” after performing a “search job postings” to use a search form that is populated with their support worker profile and temporarily change information to increase matches without changing their support worker profile. 

Support workers can also use the quick search form without changing their settings. Leaving all fields in the quick search form unchecked will return a list of all job postings. You can edit any criteria in the quick search to narrow the search.

Support Worker Central is currently only available to residents of British Columbia.

There is no fee to register.

One you’ve created an account profile and are logged in, you can change your password. Go to your Account (top right), and choose User Settings. Here, you can also change your profile image. 

To retrieve a lost password and make a new one, login with your email address and leave the password blank. Click to login, and then you will see a Lost Your Password? link.

Click this to re-enter your email. You will receive an email message with instructions on how to reset your password.

If you want to deactivate your account, send us a request. Your information is kept in our database should you wish to reactivate your account at a later date. Instead of deactivating your account, you may consider simply disabling your profile or job posting.

The contact information you used to register is stored in the supportworkercentral.ca database which is kept on a secure Canadian server. We do not share the contact information of our registered users.

If you are having difficulty using the site, please contact us.

Individuals & Family FAQ

You can create a job posting and search for a support worker. You can increase connections by selecting fewer criteria. Only select the credentials, skills, and education that are essential to fulfill the requirements of your job. 

The greater the number of criteria, the less likely it is that you will find support workers who match all of those criteria. 

Once you select “search for a support worker,” and receive a list of support workers that match your criteria, you can “edit match criteria and search again” to use a search form that is populated with your selected criteria. Using this form, you can temporarily change criteria to increase matches without changing your job posting. 

You can also use the “quick search” form without changing your settings. Leaving all fields in the quick search form unchecked will return a list of all support worker profiles. You can edit any criteria to narrow the search. 

Support workers can contact individuals or families through their private SWC mailbox if the individual or family creates a job posting that can be viewed by support workers registered on the site. Support workers can also respond to a message from an individual or family.

No, you must be a registered user of supportworkercentral.ca to search for support workers.

The family bulletin board is a place for individuals/families to contact other individuals/families to share information, and support hours. You can post new topics for discussion as well as search topics of interest.

Supportworkercentral.com is a web-based service and does not screen or interview support workers. It is critical that screening and interviewing

To update your contact information, log in and choose the “Update Contact Info & Change Password” link on your dashboard.

To edit a job posting, log in, click on the “View My Job Postings” on your dashboard, click on the “edit” button located to the right of the job posting you wish to edit.

Your job posting will remain active for 45 days, after which it will archive. If you wish to refresh the posting, you will need to log back into your account, select the specific job posting from the “View My Job Postings” link, click the “edit” icon, and select a new expiry date to reactivate it.

Support Worker FAQ

Once a support worker creates a profile they can select “search job postings” to see a list of job postings that match their profile. They can then “contact this job posting’s owner” to send a message to the private Support Worker Central mailbox of an individual or family, or to view the public contact information of a job posting owner. 

The personal contact information that a support worker used to register is hidden when they communicate about a job posting unless they choose to include it within their message or support worker profile. 

Support workers can also “edit match criteria and search again” after performing a “search job postings” to use a search form that is populated with their support worker profile and temporarily change information to increase matches without changing their support worker profile. Support workers can also use the quick search form without changing their settings. Leaving all fields in the quick search form unchecked will return a list of all job postings. You can edit any criteria in the quick search to narrow the search.

You can contact the job posting owner by clicking on the “Contact Job Posting’s Owner” button at the bottom of the posting. A message box will pop-up and you can send the job posting owner a message and attach your profile. 

If you are no longer looking for a job but want to keep your profile for later use, you may want to hide your profile. Simply edit your profile and select “no” at the bottom of the profile where it asks if you want your profile to be available to individuals & families. In the future you can change this setting and edit your profile to reflect your new job requirements.

Can't Find the Answer?

Please get in touch if you have a question that isn’t covered here, we are here to help.